top of page

Log Entry #2

10 - 4 - 18

I have learned that the individual project I recently completed has enlightened me on some new ideas in regards to the JPL Project. I have found that complex solution is not always the best solution. Simplicity can make a good idea great, just because it is more relatable to the people that are actually going to use it. The binder clip, for example, is just a two piece mechanism that holds paper, but its simplicity is what makes it so valuable. The fact that it is so universally needed for a simple problem makes it much more prosperous than some complicated machine that no one knows what it does.


The current JPL project for my group is progressing quite well. And while we seem to be stalling somewhat, there is notable progress in the materials we bring in and in new ideas and designs we have. I personally have witnessed the changing of our original idea, to a splinter project called the YEET! machine, which eventually was taken and modified to be our current design. Our progress, while a little slow, is definitely evident, and we have been refining materials, like cutting wood to correct sizes, in order to eventually construct our first prototype. I believe we will finish on time.


I anticipate a few problems with the construction of our prototype. For one, I am not sure that the supports we have will be able to hold the weight of our machine and the weight of the pipe combined. Secondly, I think that the pulley system we are using may have problems with actually running smoothly when applied to carry weight. Thirdly, although the counterweight we will be using is undetermined, I believe we will need to plan more in the aspect of that counterweight. Other than these small issues I think the prototype, and therefore the final project, will run relatively smoothly and work after some minor adjustments.


Recently things have been pretty good. Other than a few problems with the family, and my grandpa's health. My grandpa had a bad fall and opened a gash in the back of his head. He's been in and out of the hospital for a few weeks. This weekend I will be going to Homecoming, and also taking two SAT subject tests on the same day. After that I really have no definite plans.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Log Entry #5 - FINAL ENTRY

6 - 5 - 19 | This year has been fun, but all good things sadly must come to an end. Next year I will be going to college at Missouri University of Science and Technology. I will be majoring in Nuclear

bottom of page